10.7 C
New York
Thursday, November 30, 2023

Buy now

Who has more Premier League titles?

- Advertisement -

The Premier League is one of the biggest top-flight football competitions in the world, dating to 1992 when it changed to its current format.


Historically the First Division, as it was called then, was competitive and produced several champions throughout its existence. 


1. Manchester United – 20 Titles 

Manchester United is the most successful football club in the English Premier League, with 20 league titles. The majority of the clubs’ success is in the Premier League era.


Manchester United also won many titles during the Football League First Division era. The club is arguably the country’s most successful team, with 20 domestic league titles, 12 Emirates FA Cup titles, five EFL Cups and a total of 21 Community Shields, which is a record held by the club.


Notable managers of the club

  • Alex Ferguson

Sir Alex Ferguson is the most successful Coach ever to manage Manchester United as a football club in England.

Records: The Scotsman won over 13 Premier League titles for the club, five English FA Cup titles, four Football League Cups and a record Community Shield win 21 times better than any other team in the division.

  • Matt Busby

Matt Busby, dubbed the Manchester United saviour, was called to take care of the club during the struggling times.


2. Liverpool – 19 Titles 

Liverpool FC is the second most successful all-time English Premier League winner with 19 titles. In the 2019–20 season, LFC won the league to end a 30-year wait for the league title and the first in the Premier League era.


Liverpool won its first-ever Premier League title in 1901 and had to wait another five years before adding another title to its cabinet, which was the second. The Merseyside Red followed up with its success after the 1901 triumph.

Notable managers

William Edward Barclay and John Mckenna

The duo is regarded as the front liners of Liverpool’s success as a club, as they led the team to its first-ever title in the Lancashire league.

  • Bob Paisley

The Anfield landlords enjoyed a memorable experience during the time of Bob Paisley as the club manager. During his reign between 1974 to 1983, over Six league titles were achieved.

  • Jurgen Klopp

The manager that brought joy and happiness to the hearts and minds of Liverpool FC is German manager Jurgen Klopp, who left his former club Borussia Dortmund to take up the challenge handed to him in England.


3. Arsenal FC – 11 Titles 

Arsenal FC is among the best teams in the all-time EPL winners list with eleven titles, including a season of wonders known as “The Invincibles”.


“The Invincibles”

Arsenal is the second English club to earn the Nickname the Invincibles, which was first achieved by Preston North End, the first Premier League Champions. In the 2003–04 EPL season, Arsenal, led by Arsène Wenger, finished the entire season without a single defeat and was crowned Champions of the league.

Notable managers

  • Arsène Wenger

French manager Arsène Wenger is the club’s longest-serving and the most successful in the club’s history. In his reign at the club, he won over three Premier League titles which added the Gunners to the Premier League all-time winners list top table with eleven.

  • Herbert Chapman

Chapman was known for his role in the overall change experienced at the club.


4. Everton FC – 9 Titles 

When it comes to number of Premier League trophies won, Everton FC is the closest to the Big Six in the EPL. The club won its first league title in the 1890–91 season. The Merseyside club have won nine league titles.


5. Manchester City – 8 Titles 

Manchester City is has won eight EPL titles.

6. Aston Villa – 7 Titles 

Aston Villa has won the Premier League seven times during the Football League First Division era.

7. Sunderland – 6 Titles 

Sunderland also prides itself as six-time EPL Champions.

7. Chelsea – 6 Titles 

Chelsea’s major club success started in the early 2000s. The Blues won the league back to back in 2004–05 and 2005–06. Another achievement came during 2009–10. The club added another trophy five years later and only picked another one in the 2016–17 campaign.


A big question in most English football followers’ minds is looking at the league’s competitiveness right from its inception from the Football League to the Football League First Division and now into the Premier League era. Which Premier League club is the best?


Manchester United won the first edition of the Premier League after it was revamped to the status of the Premier League back in 1992.

Ibiye Ambille
Ibiye Ambillehttps://interestingfootball.com
I'm a sports enthusiast, love writing about football. I have been writing about top teams in Europe, the Premier League and La Liga.

Related Articles

Follow US

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -Discover the best betting sites and bonuses at bookiesbonuses.com
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles