Which player won most Champions League titles?


Winning the Champions League is one of the greatest achievements in the career of every professional footballer, a reason why young players have continued to idolise those who have won it in the past. Today, some players often chose to join a club due to the possibility they could have their hand on the most prestigious trophy.


In the list of most successful players, active stars as well as those who had made names in the past dominate the all time rankings. So who are they?


We know that whenever the list of players who have won the most UCL titles comes up, those who have played for teams like Real Madrid would top the list. However, it is shared across the continent as clubs like AC Milan, Liverpool, Barcelona, etc have produced some of the players with most titles.


From Karim Benzema, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Gareth Bale, Raphael Varane, Casemiro, Raphael Varane, Andrés Iniesta to Clarence Seedorf we’ve brought to you players who have lifted the most UCL in the history of the competition.

Note: we did not include players who won it during the European Cup era.


Which player won most Champions League titles?


Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, 5 titles)


The classic version of Benzema. He is one of greatest players in the modern era of the club. The Frenchman boasts of five UCL titles with Real Madrid with the most recent in 2022.

He was part of the squad that won the competition three consecutive seasons.


Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid, 5 titles)


Excellent at the back, good in dictating the pace, Dani Carvajal remains one of the best players in the second Galatico era. The Spaniard boasted of five titles and was also part of the squad with three consecutive titles.


Luka Modric (Real Madrid, 5 titles)

Arguably one of the greatest midfielders, a maestro and lord of the pitch, Luka Modric’s absence from the list would be catastrophic as the Croatian was one of the engineers of the second Galaticos who dominated Spanish football and Europe.

Luka Modric has won five titles and continues to play at the highest level for Los Blancos.


Casemiro (Real Madrid, 5 titles)

Casemiro is regarded as one of the best midfielders of his generation. The Brazilian joined the Spanish giants from Sao Paulo and went on to win five Champions League titles including the three consecutive wins. He is one of the best defensive midfielders in the world.


Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, 5 titles)


Toni Kroos is widely regarded as one of the greatest midfielders of all time. The German has won five UCL titles (four with Real Madrid and one at Bayern Munich).

Toni Kroos has been outstanding for Los Blancos since he arrived at the club in 2014, a year after achieving great results with Bayern Munich in the German top flight.


Marcelo (Real Madrid, 5 titles)

Marcelo would not be forgotten for his role in the success of Real Madrid in European football. The Brazilian defender led the club to five UEFA Champions League titles including the three consecutive wins that makes the club the first in the modern era to achieve it.

Marcelo joined Real Madrid from Fluminense in 2007 and served as a backbone in the defense.


Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona, 4 titles)

Andrés Iniesta is one of the household names in modern football. The Spaniard was behind Barcelona’s success as he became a reliable figure in the midfield.

Iniesta won four UCL titles with Barcelona. 


Isco (Real Madrid)

Isco Alarcón has five titles with Real Madrid. The Spanish footballer played for nine seasons before departing the club for Sevilla.


Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, 5 titles)

Sergio Ramos played a significant role throughout his time at Real Madrid. The Spaniard along with Marcelo were behind the club’s solid defense. Today, Ramos is widely regarded as one of the defenders of all time.


Clarence Seedorf (Ajax, Real Madrid, Milan)

Clarence Seedorf remains one of the famous names in European football. The Dutchman won four UCL titles across three clubs namely Real Madrid, Ajax and AC Milan.

Seedorf is widely regarded as one of the best midfielders of his generation.