Connect with us

Champions History

Lamar Hunt US Open Cup winners list



Lamar Hunt US Open Cup winners list

2020 Cancelled due to Covid-19
2019 Atlanta United FC
2018 Houston Dynamo
2017 Sporting Kansas City
2016 FC Dallas
2015 Sporting Kansas City
2014 Seattle Sounders FC
2013 D.C. United
2012 Sporting Kansas City
2011 Seattle Sounders FC
2010 Seattle Sounders FC
2009 Seattle Sounders FC
2008 D.C. United
2007 New England Revolution
2006 Chicago Fire
2005 Los Angeles Galaxy
2004 Sporting Kansas City
2003 Chicago Fire
2002 Columbus Crew
2001 Los Angeles Galaxy
2000 Chicago Fire
1999 Rochester Rhinos
1998 Chicago Fire
1997 FC Dallas
1996 D.C. United
1995 Richmond Kickers
1994 Greek-American A.C
1993 El Farolito Soccer Club
1992 San Jose Oaks
1991 Brooklyn Italians
1990 A.A.C. Eagles
1989 St. Petersburg Kickers
1988 St. Louis Busch Seniors
1987 Club España
1986 St. Louis Kutis S.C
1985 Greek-American A.C
1984 New York AO Krete
1983 New York Pancyprian-Freedoms
1982 New York Pancyprian-Freedoms
1981 Maccabee Los Angeles
1980 New York Pancyprian-Freedoms
1979 Brooklyn Dodgers S.C.
1978 Maccabee Los Angeles
1977 Maccabee Los Angeles
1976 San Francisco I.A.C
1975 Maccabee Los Angeles
1974 Greek American AA
1973 Maccabee Los Angeles
1972 Elizabeth S.C
1971 New York Hota Bavarian S.C
1970 Elizabeth S.C
1969 Greek American AA
1968 Greek American AA
1967 Greek American AA
1966 Philadelphia Ukrainian Nationals
1965 New York Ukrainians
1964 Los Angeles Kickers
1963 Philadelphia Ukrainian Nationals
1962 New York Hungaria
1961 Philadelphia Ukrainian Nationals
1960 Philadelphia Ukrainian Nationals
1959 McIlvaine Canvasbacks
1958 Los Angeles Kickers
1957 St. Louis Kutis S.C
1956 Harmarville Hurricanes
1955 S.C. Eintracht
1954 New York Americans
1953 Chicago Falcons
1952 Harmarville Hurricanes
1951 New York German–Hungarian S.C
1950 St. Louis Simpkins–Ford
1949 Morgan Strasser
1948 St. Louis Simpkins–Ford
1947 Ponta Delgada S.C
1946 Chicago Viking A.A
1945 Brookhattan
1944 Brooklyn Hispano
1943 Brooklyn Hispano
1942 Pittsburgh Gallatin
1941 Pawtucket F.C
1939–1940 Baltimore S.C, Sparta Fallstaff
1939 Brooklyn St. Mary’s Celtic
1938 Chicago Sparta
1937 New York Americans
1936 Uhrik Truckers
1935 St. Louis Central Breweries
1934 Stix, Baer and Fuller
1933 Stix, Baer and Fuller
1932 New Bedford Whalers
1931 Fall River Marksmen
1929–30 Fall River Marksmen
1928–29 New York Hakoah
1928 Chicago Bricklayers
1927 Fall River Marksmen
1925–26 Bethlehem Steel
1924–25 Shawsheen Indians
1923–24 Fall River Marksmen
1922–23 Paterson F.C
1921–22 Scullin Steel
1920–21 Robins Dry Dock
1919–20 Bethlehem Steel
1917–18 Bethlehem Steel
1916–17 Fall River Rovers
1915–16 Bethlehem Steel
1914–15 Bethlehem Steel
1913–14 Brooklyn Field Club


The Lamar Hunt US Open Cup is an annual knockout American Soccer tournament organised by the United States Soccer Federation for teams in the US. It is regarded as the oldest Soccer Competition in the country and the second most popular after the United States Major League Soccer.


YouTube video


Lamar Hunt US Open Cup’s most successful teams

Maccabee Los Angeles

When it comes to the US Open Cup winners list, Maccabee Los Angeles is the most successful team in the country. The club has won five titles alongside Bethlehem Steel with the same number of wins.

The last time Maccabee Los Angeles won the trophy was in 1981. The club achieved success in the 20th century.


Bethlehem Steel

Bethlehem Steel is not the joint-most successful winner of the US Open Cup, with five titles alongside Maccabee Los Angeles. The two sides claimed more titles than any other side in the old era of the Cup tournament.


Chicago Fire

Chicago Fire is the only MLS team in the MLS era to win more US Open Cup titles than any other side, with four wins. Chicago Fire’s last triumph was in 2006.

Greek American AA

Greek American AA is a joint second most successful team with four titles.


Philadelphia Tridents

Philadelphia Tridents is another side with four titles.


Seattle Sounders FC

Seattle Sounders FC is the second MLS team with more US Open Cup titles behind Chicago Fire. Sounders have won four Cup titles.

Fall River Marksmen

Fall River Marksmen have also won four titles.

Sporting Kansas City

Sporting Kansas City is the third MLS side with up to three titles. The club’s most recent win was in 2007.


Stix, Baer and Fuller – 3 Titles

New York Pancyprian-Freedoms – 3 Titles

D.C. United – 3 Titles

Brooklyn Italians – 2 Titles

Brooklyn Hispano – 2 Titles

Los Angeles Galaxy – 2 Titles

FC Dallas – 2 Titles


MLS era

Since the emergence of Major League Soccer, there has been apparent domination from teams in the United States franchise league.

Teams from the MLS have singlehandedly won the Competition more times than teams from other leagues since the year 2000.

Although this dominance all started in 1996 with DC United becoming the first MLS team to lift the trophy.


Since that triumph, Rochester Rhinos became the only non-MLS side to win in 1996 by beating an MLS side in the final.

I'm a sports enthusiast, love writing about football. I have been writing about top teams in Europe, the Premier League and La Liga.




Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV10 hours ago

Is Birmingham City vs Huddersfield Town on TV? Live stream & Team News 

Despite the resilience, Birmingham City fell to a 2-0 defeat at Carrow Road against Norwich City. The Blues have been...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football News13 hours ago

Brazil World Cup qualifiers 2026 schedule, fixtures, dates

The Selecao began their quest for a place in the FIFA World Cup in 2026 with two big wins against...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football News13 hours ago

When is the next FIFA international break in October 2023?

The FIFA International breaker or window has been a tradition in world football. It was established to allow international football...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV15 hours ago

Where to watch PSV Eindhoven Vs Sevilla CF: TV channel, live stream

Following the disappointing defeat to Arsenal, PSV will host Sevilla at the Phillips Stadion to avoid another setback. The Eredivisie...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV16 hours ago

Where to Napoli vs Real Madrid CF: TV channel UK and Team News

Following a hard-fought result against Braga, Napoli will face another tough test as Real Madrid visits the Stadio Diego Armando...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV16 hours ago

Man United vs Galatasaray SK: TV channel UK, where to watch & Team News

Manchester United could not sustain the campaign as Bayern Munich secured the maximum points at Allianz Arena two weeks ago....

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV16 hours ago

Watch RC Lens vs Arsenal FC: TV channel, live stream and Team News

RC Lens made a historic appearance in the UEFA Champions League with an impressive start. The French Ligue 1 side...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV17 hours ago

Inter Milan vs SL Benfica: where to watch, TV channel and team news

Lautaro Martinez saved the blushes of Simone Inzaghi as Inter Milan were held to a 1-1 draw by Real Sociedad...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV17 hours ago

FC Copenhagen vs Bayern Munich TV channel UK, live stream and Team News

Copenhagen fans would be reminded of their team’s lacklustre performance in Turkey, which saw them give up a 2-0 lead...

Nivia Ashtang Gold Nivia Ashtang Gold
Football On TV17 hours ago

FC Union Berlin vs Sporting Braga TV channel, live stream & team news

Playing against Real Madrid is one of the biggest fixtures for any new entrant to European Football. Union Berlin held...