NPFL Teams and their States, Location – 2020/2021 Season

December 30, 2020 1 By Ibiye Ambille

The Nigerian Professional Football League is the top tier of the Nigerian Football League system contested by 20 teams from different states in the country, in different locations, all competing for the league title.



Enyimba FC and Enugu Rangers are considered as the most successful football clubs in terms of the competition.


The league consist of teams from different states, with some having more than one team in the league.


A perfect example of states with more than one team includes Akwa Ibom with two (Akwa United FC, Dakkada FC) Abia State (Abia Warriors, Enyimba FC) etc.



For the 2020/2021 league season, it began on the 27th of December after the league management company had earlier schedule an earlier date for the commencement of the league.



According to them, resumption was postponed as a result of consultations with various stakeholders and sponsors of the top-flight league in the country.



In the article, we are listing the various Nigerian Professional Football League teams with their respective states and locations, to help fans and followers navigate their way to their various clubs.




Here are the NPFL Teams and their States, Location


1. Abia Warriors – Abia State

Abia Warriors are situated in the eastern state of Abia, in the city of Umuahia.

  Tanzania Premier League winners list, Ligi Kuu Bara Champions in history


There the main rival is Enyimba FC. The game between the two teams is called the Abia Derby.


2. Adamawa United – Adamawa State


They are situated in the city of Yola and they play at the Pantami Stadium.


3. Akwa United F.C – Akwa Ibom State

United remains the most respected team in the state with their main rival known as Akwa Starlets now called Dakkada FC.


They are located in Uyo, the capital city of Akwa Ibom State and play all their matches at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium.


4. Dakkada – Akwa Ibom State

The second most respected club in the state after Akwa United. They are situated in Uyo City. They share the same stadium with Akwa United at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium.


5. Enugu Rangers – Enugu State

Regarded as one of the best teams in the country and the most successful in the league after Enyimba FC with seven titles.


They are located in Enugu. They play at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium (The Cathedral).


6. Enyimba – Abia State


Regarded as the most successful football club in Nigeria with over 8 league titles as well as two CAF Champions League titles won back-to-back in 2003 and 2004 respectively.

  CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list, Champions in history


Eight NPFL Titles: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2015, 2019.


Location: Aba, The Enyimba International Stadium


7. Heartland F.C – Imo State

Heartland is also known as Naze Millionaires play at the Okigwe Stadium in Imo.


8. Ifeanyi Ubah F.C- Anambra State

Founded by Capital Oil boss Ifeanyi Ubah, the club prides itself as one of the most funded privately owned clubs in the country. Located in Nnewi and play at the Ifeanyi Ubah FC International Stadium.



9. Jigawa Golden – Jigawa State

In the city of Dutse. They play at the Sani Abacha Stadium and is currently the best and if not the only team from Jigawa State to have participated in the Nigerian league since it’s inception.



10. Kano Pillars – Kano State

Arguably the best club with the highest number of fans and followers. Every matchday, the stadium in Kano is always full or near full to capacity.


11. Katsina United – Katsina State

Location: Muhammadu Dikko Stadium


12. Kwara United – Kwara State

Kwara United rejuvenated side is one of the teams to watch out this season. They are located in the city of Ilorin. They play all their games at the Kwara State Stadium.


13. Lobi Stars – Benue State

The pride of Benue is one of the household names in recent times when it comes to Nigerian football. They won the league in 1999.

  Bundesliga 2020/2021 Clubs, Stadium, location


They are situated in the city of Makurdi, at the Aper Aku Stadium.


14. MFM F.C – Lagos State

Agege Stadium in Lagos city.


15. Nasarawa United – Nasarawa State


16. Plateau United – Plateau State

The new wave in the central part of Nigeria. The club won the elite league back in 2017.

Location: Jos City, New Jos Stadium.


17. Rivers United – Rivers State

Regarded as the most decorated side in south Nigeria. United or the pride of Rivers State is located in the city of Portharcourt. They play at the Liberation Stadium (Yakubu Gowon Stadium).


18. Sunshine Stars – Ondo State

City: Akure.


Stadium: Akure Township Stadium.


19. Warri Wolves – Delta State

Warri Wolves used to be a major force in the country. The team from Delta State had big names including Gbolahan Salami, Azubuike Egwekwe, etc.


They are located in the Nigerian port city of Warri. They play at the Warri Township Stadium.


20. Wikki Tourists F.C. – Bauchi State

Location: Bauchi, at the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---