The Nigerian Premier League now called the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) since it’s inception in 1972 has produced numerous winners in the past and present.

The league consisting of 20 teams fed into by the Nigeria National League (Second Division), is considered as one of the best top twelve leagues in the continent of Africa as per CAF club five-year ranking.

Since it’s inception in 1972, a total of 19 different clubs have won the competition.

When it comes to the elite division in the country, Enyimba FC and Enugu Rangers are the most successful clubs with eight and seven titles respectively.

Enyimba who’s currently considered one of the best team in the country made Nigeria proud after winning the CAF Champions League back-to-back in 2003 and 2004 respectively. Becoming the most successful team in the terms of club football in country.

Some other notable names including ICC Shooting Stars of Ibadan and Heartland FC have won five league titles each under their belt.

This article presents a detailed list of Nigerian league all-time winner’s past and present

Here’s the list of winners in the country

1. Enyimba FC

Enyimba FC have won a total of eight league titles. Its dominance began at the beginning of the 21st century in 2001 when the Aba elephants entered the Nigerian football scene after much restructuring and development on the side of the government and supporters of the club as at that time.

Arguably one of the most supported football club in the West African country, They won the league three years in a row before returning two years after to make it four titles in the space of five years.

The last time they won the title was in 2019.

Years won: 8 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2015, 2019.

2. Enugu Rangers

The Flying Antelopes is also a strong football club in the domestic scene. They began winning before Enyimba entered the scene.
The first time was in 1974 and 1975 before returning two years after to make it three in four years in 1977 after ICC Shooting Stars claimed the maiden edition in 1976.

They had to wait for 35 years before adding another title to their museum. Rangers International are one of the oldest clubs in Nigeria alongside Bendel Insurance and Kano Pillars.

Years won: 7 1974, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984, 2016

3. Shooting Stars (3SC)

Shooting Stars of Ibadan remain one of the most successful teams in the history of the league in the country with five titles which were the last won in 1998.

The club used to be a powerhouse in the country.

Years won: 5 1976, 1980, 1983, 1995, 1998.

4. Heartland Football club

The Naze Millionaires remain a household name in Nigerian football. Known as Spartans or Iwuanyanwu Nationale in past, they won five titles and represented Nigeria in various CAF club competitions including the Champions League, Confederations Cup.

Years won: 5 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993.

5. Kano Pillars

Regarded as one of the most followed clubs in the country. The Sai Masu Gida won the national championship in 2008 before returning to clinch the title three successive seasons in 2012, 2013 and 2014.

Years won: 4 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014.

6. Dolphins FC (Rivers United)


The Portharcourt based club was a hit club when it was operating as Eagle Cement Football club in the early 2000s.

19 February 2016, the new merger of Sharks & Dolphins gave birth to the new Rivers United. Following the development, credits, history and achievements of the two clubs were transferred to Rivers United.

Years won: 3 1997, 2004, 2011.

7. Bendel Insurance

Considered one of the oldest football clubs alongside Kano Pillars and Enugu Rangers, the Benin based club had its fair share of the national championship in the late 90s.

Years won: 2 1973, 1979.

8. Julius Berger (Bridge FC)

They won two Nigerian league titles and represented the country internationally.
Years won: 2 1991, 2000.

9. Lobi Stars – 1 1999

10. BCC Lions – 1 1994

11. Stationery Stores – 1 1992

12. Leventis United – 1 1986

13. Plateau United – 1 2017

14. Bayelsa United – 1 2009

15. Ocean Boys – 1 2006

16. Udoji United – 1 1996

17. New Nigeria Bank – 1 1985

18. Racca Rovers – 1 1978

19. Mighty Jets 1

Published by Ibiye Ambille

Senior editor, Loves talking football with added analysis.

error: Content is protected !!