Nigeria Premier League NPFL all-time winners list – past most Champions

Nigeria Premier League NPFL all-time winners list – past most Champions

March 22, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

The Nigeria Premier League NPFL all-time winners list – past most Champions


The Nigeria Premier League now rebranded the NPFL is men’s professional football league in Nigeria which has produced several winners in the past years.


The league arguably regarded as one of the strongest leagues in Africa was also a major force in the early 2000s on the continent, as Enyimba won back to back titles.


Also, clubs like Enugu Rangers, Shooting Stars and Heartland FC got to the finals on few oa occasions, giving the league a respectable position in Africa.


When it comes to Nigeria Professional Football League, Enyimba remains the most successful team in the country, with over eight league titles, followed behind Enugu Rangers and with seven.


Shooting Stars and Heartland are the closest with five in third and fourth position respectively.


It just of recent, Kano Pillars got on a quick rise, winning the titles in three consecutive years.


Mighty Jets won the inaugural league season in the country in 1972.



About the Nigeria Premier League (NPFL)


The league is the highest men’s professional football competition contested by 20 clubs from all over the Federation.


Considered one of the most competitive, the Leagues standings at the end of every campaign sees the top team finish with fewer points above the chasing pack.



Nigerian league teams have also had their fair share of the continental showpiece, the CAF Champions League.

  LA Galaxy trophies, achievements, owners, stadium, Championship in history


Enyimba is the only side to have won the competition. Although, heartland, Shooting Stars and Enugu Rangers came close on a few occasions.



The most successful teams in the Nigeria Professional Football League



Enyimba is the most successful football club in Nigeria with eight league titles, two CAF Champions League titles, four FA Cups, Four Super 4 Cups and two CAF Super Cups.


They are the most successful in the country.


Enyimba’s pedigree in the competition, earned Nigeria two slots also helped Nigeria with two slots across all CAF club competitions.


The Aba Elephants as they popularly called drew attention from within and outside the country in recent years.


Years Won


2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2009–10, 2015, 2019


Enugu Rangers

Used to be joint with Enyimba on. Seventh, the flying Antelopes have won seven Nigerian league titles in the past.


After lifting the 1984 league season, Rangers waited for another thirty years before they could win another league title in 2016.



Enugu Rangers is the most successful team when it comes to the oldest competition in Nigeria, The FA with a record six titles.


The club added another FA Trophy back in 2018.


Years Won

1974, 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982, 1984, 2016


Shooting Stars

IICC Shooting Stars of Ibadan is another top side in Nigerian football. Although in recent season, Shooting Stars are nowhere near the top performers in the country.

  African Cup of Nations (AFCON) winners list, Champions in history


The shooting was finally relegated from the Nigeria Premier League. Since it’s relegation from the top flight, they’ve found it difficult to bounce back.


The club has won five league titles.


Years Won


1976, 1980, 1983, 1995, 1998.


Heartland FC

Heartland FC is another top football in the country, haven won five titles in its history.


They won the league in four straight seasons.


The Heartland Naze Millionaires, are also Nigeria’s top performers on the continent in the past.


The Spartans were eventually relegated from the top flight. But have since bounced back to its full capacity.

Heartland won five league titles, three FA Cups and two Super 4 Cups.


Years Won (NPFL)

1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993.



Kano Pillars

Pillars saw a quick rise in its history as a football club in Nigeria, winning the league in three consecutive seasons.


Pillars first trophy came in 2008.


Backed financial by the government of Kano State, Kano Pillars is the most supported club in Nigeria with fewer stories surrounding unpaid wages and salaries.

Kano Pillars has won the NPFL four times


Years Won

2008, 2012, 2013, 2014.


Dolphins FC (Now Rivers United)


Rivers United won the competition three times in the past.


The Portharcourt based Club won three Premier League titles and four FA Cups.


Years Won

1997, 2004, 2011


Other top teams

Bendel Insurance (2), Julius Berger (2).

  Al Ahly trophies, titles & achievements in history


1972: Mighty Jets


1973: Bendel Insurance


1974: Enugu Rangers


1975: Enugu Rangers


1976: IICC Shooting Stars


1977: Enugu Rangers


1978: Racca Rovers


1979: Bendel Insurance


1980: IICC Shooting Stars


1981: Enugu Rangers


1982: Enugu Rangers


1983: IICC Shooting Stars


1984: Enugu Rangers


1985: New Nigeria Bank


1986: Leventis United


1987: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Heartland)


1988: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Heartland FC)


1989: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Heartland FC)


1990: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Heartland FC)


1991: Julius Berger


1992: Stationery Stores


1993: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Heartland FC)


1994: BCC Lions


1995: 3SC Shooting Stars


1996: Udoji United


1997: Eagle Cement


1998: 3SC Shooting Stars


1999: Lobi Stars


2000: Julius Berger


2001: Enyimba


2002: Enyimba


2003: Enyimba


2004: Dolphin


2005: Enyimba


2006: Ocean Boys


2007: Enyimba


2008: Kano Pillars


2009: Bayelsa United


2010: Enyimba


2011: Dolphin


2012: Kano Pillars


2013: Kano Pillars


2014: Kano Pillars


2015: Enyimba


2016: Enugu Rangers


2017: Plateau United


2018: The League was suspended after 24 match days as a result of the new CAF Rules.


2019: Enyimba


2019–20: League season cancelled after 25 matchdays due to Covid-19. PPG was used to determine final standings.

2020/2021: Akwa United


Advertisment ---