Lionel Messi Ballon d’Or years and age 


Messi is one of the greatest players in world football. He holds the record as the player with the most Ballon d’Ors currently at seven during his time at Barcelona.


He received his first award in 2009 after his second breakthrough season in Europe with Barcelona, winning the Copa del Rey and his second UEFA Champions League title.

Interesting Football brings to you, in brief details, Lionel Messi’s Ballon d’Or years and ages.


2009 – (22 years)

This was Lionel Messi’s main breakthrough season in Europe, even though he was part of the first team in previous seasons and won the league and the UCL.

He played a significant role in Barcelona’s first team and helped the club to lift the league, Copa del Rey, UCL, and Supercopa de España. He won the award edging Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi Hernandez.

2010 – (23 years)

Messi continued with outstanding performances in the Spanish La Liga with Barcelona. He won the league and the UEFA Champions League for the second time. At the awards, the Argentine edged two of his teammates, Andrés Iniesta and Xavi, to win for the second consecutive year.

2011 – (24 years)

Continuity was one of the goals of the Argentine sensation as he went on to make it three awards in a row. He’s won La Liga, Supercopa de España, the FIFA Club World Cup, and the Champions League. He finished ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi.

2012 – (25 years)

For the fourth year in a row, Messi excelled at the awards to claim his fourth. He edged Cristiano Ronaldo and Andrés Iniesta. The Argentine had another successful campaign as he won the Copa del Rey and was the main contributor to the team’s success.

2015 – (28 years)

Messi, after four years of dominating the awards, had a two-year wait for his fifth award. He edged Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar in the finals. He won the La Liga, Copa del Rey, UEFA Super Cup, Champions League, and FIFA Club World Cup.

2019 – (32 years)

He won the award after finishing ahead of Virgil van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo

2021 – (34 years)

Lionel Messi won his seventh award in 2021 as he was ahead of Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho.