LA Galaxy trophies, achievements, owners, stadium, Championship in history

LA Galaxy trophies, achievements, owners, stadium, Championship in history

June 13, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

LA Galaxy trophies, achievements, owners, rivalries, stadium, jersey records, Championships


LA Galaxy is an American professional soccer club based in Los Angeles and is one of the top clubs in the United States and have won major trophies as well as numerous achievements in it’s entire history as club.


LA Galaxy plays in the Major League Soccer as a franchise team and competes in the Western Conference.



Since the start of MLS in 1996, La Galaxy had always turned out to be a great side starting from the early years of the league.


Founded in 1994, the club began winning the league from it’s early years of adoption into the league and also the era of more Competition.


Today, the Los Angeles Galaxy is regarded as one of the strongest Soccer clubs the in United States based on performance in the past as well as present day performance.


As per Forbes magazine of 2019, it is the second most valuable in the MLS, worth about $480 million.


Cool facts

How many Championships does LA Galaxy have? LA Galaxy have won 5 MLS Cup, 4 MLS Supporters Shregular-season Cup, 8 Western Conference regular season title, 1 CONCACAF Champions League.


LA Galaxy the same as LAFC? LA Galaxy and LAFC are different entities. LA Galaxy is a soccer club established in 1994 while LAFC was established in 2014 and are owned by different owners.


What league is LA Galaxy? LA Galaxy plays in the Major League Soccer.


Who has the most championships in the MLS? LA Galaxy have won the most MLS Championship, leading the all-time chart with 5 titles.


The Los Angeles Galaxy is one of the most successful Soccer clubs in the United States club Soccer history, winning more titles which began in it’s early years as the club the until this moment.


LA Galaxy trophies, achievements, records

Since the MLS awards two titles, even though the MLS Cup winners are the Champions of the league, the club have gone on to lift the Supporters Shield more times

  Brazil Serie A fixtures 2021 - Brazil league games today



Titles: 5

Years Won: 2002, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2014 (record)

Los Angeles Galaxy remains the most successful team in the history of the MLS Cup winners with 5 titles which is more than any other outside in the division.


The club lifted it’s first title in 2002, eight years since the league came into existence. This win was followed by another successful outing in 2005.


This time, it took LA Galaxy another six years to win the MLS Cup Trophy in 2011 and successfully defended it the following year in 2012.


The Galaxy did not stop the fun in 2012 as it went on further to lift the MLS Cup title once again in 2014 and was the last time the citstaits success in the division.


Galaxy won it’s five league titles in the space twelve years which is a remarkable achievement in the history of the club and the league in general.


MLS Supporters Shield

Titles: 4

Years Won: 1998, 2002, 2010, 2011 (record).


The Galaxy also doubles as the all-time most successful in the MLS Supporters Shield alongside DC United with 4 titles.


Perhaps the Supporters Shield was the second major trophy n the club’s cabinet.


LA were crowned in 1998, and completed the double in 2002 by emerging Chan of the MLS Cup and Supporters Shield the same year.


The club won the trophy back to back between 2010 and 2011 to make it four titles.


The win in 2011 became another double as LA Galaxy became the first club to win the MLS double in two different occasions between 2002 and 2011.


US Open Cup

Titles: 2

Years Won: 2001, 2005.

The first major trophy in the history of LA Galaxy was the US Open Cup which the club lifted in 2001 after which the MLS Cup was lifted the following year in 2002.


It took the club four more years to add a second MLS Cup title.

  Super Bowl winners - List Champions & most successful in history


Western Conference (Playoff) – 9

Western Conference (Regular Season) – 8


Internationally achievements


CONCACAF Champions League

Title: 1

Years Won: 2000.

In 1997, LA Galaxy got too the finals of the CONCACAF Champions League, but lost in a surprise fashioned to Méxican club giants Cruz Azul.



Qualifying for the 2000 finals, it was the moment to reclaim lost glory three years back. In the final, LA Galaxy defeated Honduran team Olimpia to claims its first major International trophy.


Other titles

MLS Fair Play Award – 2013


The club was handed the league’s fair play award at the end of the 2013 season.


LA Galaxy rivalry

California Clásico: LA Galaxy vs San Jose Earthquakes


This clash is seen as the hottest herb regarded Californian region. Nationally, it is also regarded as one of the strongest rivalries.


As per stats, it is fiercely contested derby which also holds the record as the longest running Soccer rivalry in the United States.


The first t meeting between the two sides dates back to early years of the league’s establishment in 1996.


El Tráfico: LA Galaxy vs LA FC

This is one of the newest US Soccer rivalries created after the emergence of Los Angeles FC in the Major League Soccer since the year 2018.


Club Ground

Since 2003, the club plays it’s home games at the Dighasealth Sports Park located in Carson, California having a capacity of about 27,000.




Club jersey

The Galaxy wears a traditional navy ofue, old, and white colours which forms a core part in the entire history of the club.


Galaxy’s jersey is one of recognised sought after in the United States and also across the world most especially in some european countries.


LA Galaxy Fan base

In the United States, the club is one of the most supposed which could be attributed to the team’s early success in the league as well as international recognition after lifting the Champions League in 2000.


  Supercopa do Brasil winners, Brazil Super Cup Champions in history

Galaxy boost of a high loyal fan base across the country.

The club also have group of supporters club across the country.



Who owns LA Galaxy? Founded in 1994, LA Galaxy is currently owned by Anschutz Entertainment Group.


An overview of LA Galaxy in the MLS and CONCACAF Champions League performance


Since it’s inauguration season in the MLS in 1996, the club have continued to grow and has become one of the major contender of the league.


The success achieved over the years have also earned it more recognition Internationally.


Compared with likes of Manchester United, Barcelona, LA Galaxy is the MLS global brand.


Competing in Western Conference, the club surely prides itself as one of biggest brands in Conference over the years.


How MLS got an international recognized? Winning the CONCACAF Champions League was the first step. However, signing a major Soccer player like Zlatan Ibrahimovic, David Beckham created headlines.


This move was behind the club’s quick rise in terms of followers internationally.


David Beckham who left Real Madrid for the club was one of biggest names on the club’s roster.


In history, LA Galaxy is one of the 10 founding members in the MLS.


Looking at the early success, Galaxy emerged tops of the regular season Conference standings and qualified for the MLS Cup playoffs.


Getting to the final, the club lost to D.C. United, who became the inaugural season winners of the MLS.


The Galaxy won the CONCACAF Champions League to emerge as the second team from the United States to win the competition after DC United.



LA Galaxy is a top side in MLS that has won numerous trophies in the domestic scene.


It is also the second United States based team to win the CONCACAF Champions League after DC United.


This article highlights LA Galaxy trophies, achievements, rivalries, jersey, records, owners and Stadium.

Advertisment ---