10.7 C
New York
Thursday, November 30, 2023

Buy now

How many Champions League/ UCL titles has Ajax won?

Ajax Amsterdam is a football club based in Amsterdam, Netherlands, and is considered one of the most successful football clubs in the history of the UEFA Champions League. The club has a rich history of success in the competition, and in this article, we will explore how many UEFA Champions League titles Ajax has won.


The Uefa Champions League, earlier known as the European Cup, was founded in 1955 and has been contested by the champions of the European national leagues every year since then. The format of the competition has changed over time, but the trophy remains the same and is coveted by every club in Europe.


Ajax has won the UCL four times, making them one of the 13 clubs that have lifted the trophy more than once. 

Ajax’s first UCL title came in 1971 when they beat Greek side Panathinaikos 2-0 in the final at Wembley Stadium in London. The team was led by legendary coach Rinus Michels and featured some of the greatest players in Ajax’s history, such as Johan Cruyff, Piet Keizer, Sjaak Swart, and Ruud Krol.

Read: Ajax Biggest losses in Eredivisie, European Champions League

Ajax repeated their success in 1972 and 1973, becoming only the third club to win the UCL three times after Real Madrid and Bayern Munich. They beat Inter Milan 2-0 in 1972 and Juventus 1-0 in 1973, both at De Kuip Stadium in Rotterdam. Ajax’s style of play, Total Football, was admired and feared by their opponents, as they dominated possession and attacked with flair and creativity.


Ajax had to wait 22 years for their fourth and most recent UCL title, which they achieved in 1995 under coach Louis van Gaal.


The team comprised young and talented players who had come through Ajax’s famous youth academy, such as Edwin van der Sar, Frank de Boer, Clarence Seedorf, Edgar Davids, Marc Overmars, and Patrick Kluivert. Ajax beat Italian champions AC Milan 1-0 in the final at Ernst-Happel-Stadion in Vienna, thanks to a late goal by Kluivert.


Ajax came close to winning their fifth UCL title in 1996 but lost on penalties to Juventus in the final at Stadio Olimpico in Rome. They also reached the semi-finals in 2019 but were eliminated by Tottenham Hotspur by away goals after a dramatic second leg at Johan Cruyff Arena in Amsterdam.


Some other Trophies

Aside from their four European Cup/Champions League victories, Ajax has also won the UEFA Cup (now known as the Europa League) once, in the 1991-92 season. They have also won the now-defunct European Cup Winners’ Cup once, in the 1986-87 season.


Ajax has also had success in other European competitions. They won the Intercontinental Cup (now known as the FIFA Club World Cup) twice, in 1972 and 1995.


Ajax will hope to end their UCL drought and add another trophy to their collection. Ajax has had a remarkable history of success in the UEFA Champions League, and their four titles are a testament to their dominance in the competition.


While the club has not won the competition since 1995, they remain a force to be reckoned with in European football and are known for its commitment to developing young talent and playing an attractive style of football.

Ibiye Ambille
Ibiye Ambillehttps://interestingfootball.com
I'm a sports enthusiast, love writing about football. I have been writing about top teams in Europe, the Premier League and La Liga.

Related Articles

Follow US

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -Discover the best betting sites and bonuses at bookiesbonuses.com
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles