France Super Cup 2022: which club has won the most trophies? 


The France Super Cup, most often the Trophée des Champions and alternatively the French Super Cup, is the curtain raiser for the new season in French football to date. It was established in 1995 and contested by the league winners (Ligue 1) and the Coupe de France (French Cup).


The inaugural match of the French Super Cup was contested between Paris Saint-Germain and FC Nantes in 1995. Although it was on the brink of cancellation, it was revived to allow the runners-up of the league the previous season to participate.


Paris Saint-Germain is the most successful team in the French Super Cup, with ten trophies. The Parisians won the inaugural match in 1995 following the defeat of FC Nantes.


Lyon is the second most successful French Super Cup team with eight trophies, including six consecutive victories from 2002 to 2007.


Although PSG and Lyon have dominated the one-off match, other well-known clubs have won the competition, most recently Lille in 2021, which won the Ligue 1 and the French Super Cup at the expense of Paris Saint-Germain.


To expand French football, the Ligue de Football Professionnel has taken French Super Cup matches to neutral venues outside France, just like the Spanish Super Cup and the Italian Super Cup.


France Super Cup’s most successful teams


Paris Saint-Germain – 10

Lyon – 8

Reims – 5

Saint-Étienne – 5

AS Monaco – 4

FC Nantes – 3

Bordeaux – 3

Marseille – 3

Nice, Rennes, Lille, Sedan, Le Havre, Bastia – 1