5 C
New York
Friday, December 1, 2023

Buy now

FIFA Club World Cup winners list, Champions & successful in history

How do you qualify for World Club Cup? Teams qualify for the Club World Cup as hosts or winners of their respective continent showpiece like the UEFA Champions League.

Who is the defending champion of the Club World Cup 2021? Chelsea won the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup.


FIFA Club World Cup winners


2021 – Chelsea (England)

2020 – Bayern Munich (Germany)

2019 – Liverpool (England)

2018 – Real Madrid (Spain)

2017 – Real Madrid (Spain)

2016 – Real Madrid (Spain)

2015 – Barcelona (Spain)

2014 – Real Madrid (Spain)

2013 – Bayern Munich (Spain)

2012 – Corinthians (Brazil)

2011 – Barcelona (Spain)

2010 – Inter Milan (Italy)

2009 – Barcelona (Spain)

2008 – Manchester United (England)

2007 – AC Milan (Italy)

2006 – Internacional (Brazil)

2005 – São Paulo (Brazil)

2000 – Corinthians (Brazil)



FIFA Club World Cup’s most successful teams 


Real Madrid

Titles 4

Years Won: 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018.

Spanish giants Real Madrid is the only club with the most victories.

Real Madrid is the most successful team in the FIFA Club World Cup, with four titles. The Los Blancos lifted its first title in 2014 in a final Argentine Primera Division stronghold San Lorenzo by a 2-0 scoreline played at the Stade de Marrakech in Morocco.


However, Real Madrid could not defend its title as rivals Barcelona returned more decisive the following year to clinch its third title in 2015.

The club’s second title was lifted at the expense of Japanese side Kashima Antlers in a game that ended 2-2 after average regulation time. It took a brilliant comeback in extra time to dispatch a more determined Kashima Antlers set up to lift the trophy.


Real Madrid FIFA Club World Cup victories

  • 2014 – Real Madrid 2-0 San Lorenzo
  • 2016 – Real Madrid 4-2 Kashima Antlers
  • 2017 Real Madrid 1-0 Grêmio
  • 2018 Real Madrid 4-1 Al-Ain.



Titles 3

Years Won: 2009, 2011, 2015

Barcelona was the first Spanish side to win the FIFA Club World Cup trophy in 2009. Although the Blaugrana had also ended up as runners up once in 2006 against Brazilian Série A side Internacional, the club still went on to win three trophies.


Barcelona endured a hard fighting Argentine side Estudiantes in the final, with regulation time ending in a 1-1 draw. The Catalans, however, came back stronger in extra time courtesy of a 110th-minute goal from club legend Lionel Messi.


Barca’s third title in 2015 was another remarkable moment in the club’s history after a smashing win over Copa Libertadores winners River Plate Argentine.



Titles 2

Years Won: 2000, 2012

Corinthians of Brazil became the first club to lift the FIFA Club World Cup in the inaugural edition in 2000 in an all Brazilian final against CR Vasco da Gama.


The two teams that were fam each other in the domestic league could not break each other’s backline even as the game was forced to go into extra time where Corinthians emerged as Champions via penalty shootout.


Bayern Munich


Bayern Munich is the most successful German club in the FIFA Club World, with two titles. The Bavarians won their first trophy in 2013 by beating Moroccan representatives Raja Casablanca 2-0 in the final.


Other notable FIFA Club World Cup winners on the list

São Paulo – 1 Title (2005)

Internacional – 1 Title (2006)

Milan – 1 Title (2007)

Manchester United – 1 Title (2008)

Inter Milan – 1 Title (2010)

Liverpool – 1 Title (2019)

Chelsea – 1 Title (2021)


The FIFA Club World Cup is an annual football competition organised by FIFA for winners of all continental top tier Competitions, which has produced notable winners in the past and present.


The competition was solely created to crown a World Champion in club football related to the FIFA World Cup for national teams. It was designed as a replacement for the Intercontinental Cup, which used to be the world’s Premier football Competition for top clubs at the end of every calendar year.


The old Intercontinental Cup was contested by a team from Europe and South America, wholly ignoring teams from Africa (CAF), Asia (AFC), North America (CONCACAF), and Oceania (OFC).

Ibiye Ambille
Ibiye Ambillehttps://interestingfootball.com
I'm a sports enthusiast, love writing about football. I have been writing about top teams in Europe, the Premier League and La Liga.

Related Articles

Follow US

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -Discover the best betting sites and bonuses at bookiesbonuses.com
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles