DFL Supercup winners list, German Super Cup Champions in history

May 28, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

DFL Supercup winners list, German Super Cup Champions in history.


The DFL Supercup is annual is a single match or one-off football tie played by winners of the German Bundesliga and the DFB Pokal Champions in the previous year.


It is the first trophy of the new football in Germany.


Cool facts

Who won the German Super Cup? Bayern Munich is the current Champions of the German Super Cup after defeating Borussia Dortmund in the 2020 final.


Who plays DFL Supercup? The winner of the Bundesliga and the winner of the DFB Pokal or German Cup.


The runners up of the Bundesliga will play against the Cup winners.


Is the German Supercup a major trophy? The German Super Cup is the second nationally recognize domestic trophy Cup behind DFB Pokal Cup.


In case the same team emerged winners of the two Competitions, the second-placed team on the Bundesliga table in the previous season will be selected.

  Australia A-League winners, list of Champions in history


It is organized by the German Football League and could be referred to as the German Super Cup.


Bayern Munich is the most successful team in history with eight titles.


The Competition was rebranded to its current form in 1997.


DFL Super Cup winners list, Champions of the German Super Cup


Bayern Munich

When it comes to the DFL Supercup, Bayern Munich remains the most successful team in history haven won up to eight titles.


Bayern Munich won its first title in 1987 and three years later in 1990 for a second title.


The Bavarians however waited another ten years in 2010 to lift its third title.


Bayern also became the first and only team to win the trophy in three consecutive seasons between 2016, 2017 and 2018.


In 2020, the club returned to stake a claim on the Super Cup after losing out of the 2019 edition to Borussia Dortmund.

  UEFA Super Cup winners list, Champions and most successful in history


Bayern has also lost in six finals.


Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Dortmund is the second most successful team in the German Super Cup with six titles behind Bayern Munich.


Dortmund’s first title was in 1989. The club holds the record of two consecutive wins between 2013 and 2014 and the second club outside Bayern Munich to achieve this.


Borussia Dortmund has also lost in five finals.


SV Werder Bremen

Werder Bremen is the third most successful team with three titles.


All of Bremen’s titles were achieved in the 20th century.


The club’s first triumph was in 1988. Bremen also enjoyed consecutive wins between 1993 and 1994.


Other notable teams that have won the German DFL Super Cup


1. FC Kaiserslautern – 1 Title

Schalke 04 – 1 Title

VfB Stuttgart – 1 Title

VfL Wolfsburg – 1 Title


DFL Supercup winners list, Champions of the German Super Cup



2020 Bayern Munich

2019 Borussia Dortmund

  Copa Del Rey winners, List of Champions in history

2018 Bayern Munich

2017 Bayern Munich

2016 Bayern Munich

2015 VfL Wolfsburg

2014 Borussia Dortmund

2013 Borussia Dortmund

2012 Bayern Munich

2011 Schalke 04

2010 Bayern Munich



1996 Borussia Dortmund

1995 Borussia Dortmund

1994 SV Werder Bremen

1993 SV Werder Bremen

1992 VfB Stuttgart

1991 1. FC Kaiserslautern

1990 Bayern Munich

1989 Bayern Munich

1988 SV Werder Bremen

1987 Bayern Munich



Performance by Competitions

Bundesliga winners 13

DFB-Pokal winners 4

Bundesliga runners-up 4



The DFL Super Cup attracts very high interest since it is the season opener. It is always a tough battle attracting followers within and outside Germany.



The competition becomes fierce most especially when the teams are winners of the two most prestigious Competitions (Bundesliga and DFB Pokal) in the country.



This article highlights the DFL Supercup winners list, Champions of the German Super Cup.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---