Copa Sudamericana winners, list of Champions successful in history

Copa Sudamericana winners, list of Champions successful in history

May 6, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

Copa Sudamericana winners, list of Champions and the most successful teams in the history of the competition.


Who is the most successful team of the Copa Sudamericana? Boca Juniors and Independiente are the two most successful teams with two titles respectively.


Who are the current Champions in 2020? Defensa y Justicia is the 2020 Champions of the Copa Sudamericana, beating Lanús in the final to claim it’s the first title of the campaign.



How does the Copa Sudamericana work? It works in such a way that lowly ranked teams that finished outside the Copa Libertadores position in the previous season qualify to play alongside National cup winners.

Copa Sudamericana winners are paid $500,000 by CONMEBOL.


Since its establishment, the cup Competitions has produced notable Champions that have gone on to win numerous titles.


The Copa Sudamericana has been one of the continent’s long-standing club football tournament behind the Copa Libertadores which also has a strong following and Competition from participating teams.


The annual club Competitions is organized by CONMEBOL with over 39 clubs from South American football members countries.


The Copa Sudamericana is South America second most prestigious club Competitions behind the Copa Libertadores.


The Competition is usually contested by tier two clubs and domestic FA Cup or national cup winners of the respective leagues in South American.


Teams seeding is based on performance in the past few years and the number of entrants is also according to the performance of Clubs from a particular country.


In the history of Copa Sudamericana, Brazilian and Argentine teams have won the most titles.


Also in terms of participation, brazil Fields the highest number of teams with over seven teams entering the competition every season.

  Kaizer Chiefs ranking in Africa 2021: Trophies, achievements & records


The competitiveness of the Sudamericana saw a total of seventeen clubs win the second-tier competition.


It has a very short history behind it compared to other second-tier competition around the world.


The Sudamericana began it’s the inaugural season in 2002 and San Lorenzo was crowned Champions after defeating Atlético Nacional.


When it comes to the Copa Sudamericana, Boca Juniors and Independiente are the most successful teams.


In Total, Argentina commands the all-time winner’s list by country with nine trophies won by teams from the country.


Bolivia is the only country in the Competition that has failed to produce a winner.


It might also interest you to know that clubs from North American CONCACAF teams were invited to take part in the Competition as Méxican side Pachuca came out victorious in 2006.


However, the invitation was stopped in 2008 after four years of participation from external teams outside the South American block.


Copa Sudamericana winners, list of Champions and successful all-time in the history


Boca Juniors

Boca Juniors is an Argentine professional football club based in Buenos Aires, one of the country’s famous city.


The club is a giant on the continent and the world stage, winning most of the top trophies in the CONMEBOL region including the Copa Libertadores, Copa Sudamericana and the Recopa Sudamericana.


Boca Juniors is the most successful football club from Argentina with over 70 titles in its trophy cabinet.


Today, Boca Juniors is regarded as the third most successful club in the world behind Egypt’s Al Ahly and Real Madrid.

  List of Channels on Startimes, bouquets 2021 (+new)


Copa Sudamericana winners

Boca Juniors won the Competition back to back in 2004 and 2005 and this was the only time they had participated in the continent’s second-tier competition.


Other notable trophies including three Intercontinental Cup, six Copa Libertadores, four Recopa Sudamericana and a single Supercopa Sudamericana.


The club’s history is much more surrounded by triumphs in the top tier club tournament.



Independiente is an Argentine professional football club based in Greater Buenos Aires regards as the Big Five in Argentina.


Independiente has also enjoyed successes in international competitions organized by CONMEBOL with over 18 tiles.


Copa Sudamericana winners

Independiente qualified to represent Argentina in the continent’s second-tier football competition and did so successfully by lifting the 2010 and 2017 editions of the Sudamericana.



Cienciano won the second edition of the Competition in 2003.

The Peruvian team did so by defeating Argentine and South American giants River Plate (3-1) in the final phase.


It was indeed a surprise title that the Peruvian side lifted at the expense of River Plate who fell back to the continent’s second-tier football competition that year.



(Invited  The visitors)


Pachuca surprised the South American continent by lifting the title in a fiercely contested final against Chilean league giants Colo-Colo.


Over there in the Méxican Liga MX, Pachuca is the winners of six League titles with five CONCACAF Champions League titles.



2020 Defensa y Justicia – Argentina

2019 Independiente del Valle – Ecuador

2018 Atlético Paranaense – Brazil

2017 Independiente – Argentina

2016 Chapecoense – Brazil

2015 Santa Fe – Colombia

2014 River Plate – Argentina

2013 Lanús – Argentina

  Recopa Sudamericana winners, Champions list in history

2012 São Paulo – Brazil

2011 Universidad de Chile – Chile

2010 Independiente – Argentina

2009 LDU Quito – Ecuador

2008 Internacional – Brazil

2007 Arsenal de Sarandí – Argentina

2006 Pachuca (Mexico – Invited)

2005 Boca Juniors – Argentina

2004 Boca Juniors – Argentina

2003 Cienciano – Peru

2002 San Lorenzo – Argentina


Winners by country

Argentina 9

Brazil 4

Ecuador 2

Colombia 1

Mexico 1

Chile 1

Peru 1

Bolivia 0


Argentina won a total of nine trophies and are miles from second-placed Brazil with four titles as Colombia occupy the third position with two titles.



It has never been a one sided affair, rather it is a Championship that has produced numerous winners from different countries on the continent.


Despite having the status of second fiddle to the Libertadores, it has continued to enjoy high following from across the continent.


Argentine side Defensa y Justicia won it’s first ever titles after heroics in the 2020 finals.


With this success achieved, the team is aiming for more titles in the competition years to come.



The Competition is the second tier Soccer Competitions organized by the CONMEBOL association for clubs that finish outside the qualification zone for the Libertadores the following season.


Since its inception in 2002, Only Boca Juniors and Independiente have won the competition more than once.


Also, clubs from North America CONCACAF region were invited to participate and Méxican side Pachuca eventually won the 2006 edition.


This article highlights the Copa Sudamericana winners list, showing the complete all-time Champions in the history of the competition in South American.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---