CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list, Champions in history

CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list, Champions in history

May 27, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

CONCACAF Gold Cup winners.


The CONCACAF Gold Cup is a North American football tournament organic by the CONCACAF body for participating teams in the region.


Costa Rica won the first tournament held in 1963.


Cool facts

Who has won the most Concacaf Gold Cups? México has won the most CONCACAF Gold Cup with 8 titles.

Who won the Concacaf Gold Cup 2019? México National team won the 2019 Gold Cup.

How many Gold Cups does the USA have? The United States has won five Gold Cup titles.


The Competition is played by the men’s senior national team from North América, América and the Caribbean nations.

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is held every two years unlike the Euroleague Championship or the Euro which is held once in four years.



During the early years of the Cup tournament, it was referred to as the CONCACAF Championship before it was rebranded as the Gold Cup which came into effect in 1991.

Since its inception in 1963, a total of twenty-five different tournaments have been played.

Since the establishment, México is the most successful.


CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list, the most successful


Titles – 8 (11)

When it comes to the CONCACAF Gold Cup, México is the most successful national team on the continent with 11 titles won during the old and new era.


In total, México has won 8 CONCACAF Gold Cup titles.

This makes México a dominant force and tournament favourite each time it is held.

Starting with a dominating performance in the early years, the Méxicans continued with it onto the modern era, winning five titles since 2003 and the most recent was in 2019.

  Copa America winners list, Champions in history


The Méxican national team have also ended up as runners up on two occasions, five times as third place winners and once in fourth.

The second team in the all-time winner’s list are five titles behind the Méxican who remain the big brothers of the North, Central and Caribbean Islands continental competitions.


The success of the national team sent waves across the world, taking México higher in the world rankings and one of the best in the world.


In terms of the most successful national teams in North American, México holds a high margin more than other sides.

The United States

Titles – 6 (7)

The United States is the second most successful national team in the history of the CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list with six titles most of which were achieved in the modern era.


United States first triumph was in 1991. The most recent success the country achieved was in the 2017 edition.


The US reached the finals of the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup edition but lost to record Champions México in the end.

After Mexico’s clear dominance in the region, The United States is the next name on the list and have consistently followed with the high standard of the Méxicans reaching six finals.

The United States’s loss in most of the finals was against México.


The entire history of the continental showpiece has been between Mexico and the United States with the Méxicans having the largest share.

Costa Rica

Titles – (3)

Another side that has constantly emerged tops in the CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list either as Champions or runners up in Costa Rica.

The country also boasts three titles most of which were achieved during the early years of the competition.

  Campeones Cup trophy winners, all-time Champions in history


Costa Rica has never won the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the modern era of football in the continent or the newly created Gold Cup.

The country lost once in the final. Costa Rica has finished in third and fourth places four times each.

In the 2017 edition, the country could only manage a fourth place finish.



Titles – 1 (1)

Canada is the fourth most successful team in the history of the CONCACAF Gold Cup with two titles and is miles away from the leaders México and closest neighbours according to geographics, The United States.

The Canadians are no strangers in the continental showpiece.


However, it has been a struggle for the top price. The first time Canada lifted the Gold Cup was in 1985.

In the modern era, Canada won the Competition was in 2000 which was also the last time the country tasted victory in the highest-priced men’s national team football tournament for the North, Central and Caribbean Islands.


Titles – (1)

Honduras is the fifth team on the all-time winner’s list of CONCACAF Gold Cup with one title. This was won in 1981.


Honduras have also finished as runners up on two occasions.


Titles – (1)

Haiti entered the winner list of the Competition by lifting the 1973 tournament.


Titles – (1)

Guatemala has also won one Gold Cup title in 1967.


2021 United States
2019 México
2017 United States
2015 México
2013 United States
2011 México
2009 México
2007 United States
2005 United States
2003 México
2002 United States
2000 Canada
1998 México
1996 México
1993 México
1991 United States
1989 Costa Rica
1985 Canada
1981 Honduras
1977 México
1973 Haiti
1971 México
1969 Costa Rica
1967 Guatemala
1965 México
1963 Costa Rica

  Liga MX teams: cities, logos, maps location, nicknames 2021, Stadium


North America (NAFU)

Canada, the United States and México

Central America (UNCAF)
Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.

Caribbean (CFU)

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, The Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Curacao, Dominica, Dominican Republic, French Guiana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Puerto Rico, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, and US Virgin Islands.


The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the number football competition across the three sub-regional tournaments.

It receives followers across the world.



The Competition is more like a two-horse race between the two biggest nations, México and the United States.


Although the likes of Canada, Jamaica, Costa Rica have also proved to be stronger oppositions.


CONCACAF Gold Cup is a premiere men’s national team football Competition organized by the CONCACAF for North, Central and Caribbean Islands Nations.


Since its establishment, México and the United States have won more titles than any other participating country.


México has won up to eight titles and eleven in total while the United States has won five and six titles in total to emerge as second best in the entire history of the competition.


This article highlights the CONCACAF Gold Cup winners list, Champions in history.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---