CHAN 2021 Cameroon Teams, Groups, Venues, Fixtures


The Continental showpiece began on Saturday 17th of January and will come to an end on Sunday February 7th, with over 16 teams in four Groups with over twenty-four fixtures to be played in the group phase.


The initial host of the tournament was Ethiopia, but the Ethiopian Football Federation admitted it will not be able to host the competition and as such, it was awarded to Cameroon.


Follow the latest from CHAN 2021


It was supposed to kick off in January 2020 but was later postponed to April, before it was finally suspended for a later date.


North African country Morocco is the defending Champions of the competition after winning the Championship against Nigeria in the finals in 2018.


Seeding and requirements for qualification


The twenty-four teams were shared into six zones namely Central Zone (3), Central Eastern Zone (3), Northern Zone (2), Southern Zone (3), Western Zone A (3), Western Zone B (3).


The CHAN 2021 Tournament Teams in detail


1. Cameroon 

Cameroon is the host nation of the 2021 African Nations Championship (CHAN), after the initial host Ethiopia opted out as confirmed by the Ethiopian Football Federation to the Confederation of African American.

The Eastern African country is also a side to watch out. 

2. Republic of Congo

The Central African nation took one of the three available slots meant for central Africa

3. DR Congo

DR Congo also qualified for the tournament after grabbing the remaining ticket from central Africa. DR Congo is the most successful team in the competition with two titles won between 2009 and 2016.


Arguably, the country boost of having one of the best football league in Africa as per CAF five year ranking system based on performance by country.

See the best leagues in Africa 2021 Ranked Statically



4. Rwanda

The Rwandans as a result of constant development in the domestic scene managed to qualify for the main event in Cameroon.

5. Tanzania

Tanzania qualified as with the second ticket meant for East Central Africa.

6. Uganda

Uganda claimed the remaining slot for the region.

7. Libya

Libya as one of the biggest team in the competition grabbed qualification for the maiden edition in Cameroon. Libya won the 2014 edition against Ghana in a penalty shoot-out after regular time ended goallessly.

8. Morocco

Morocco is the defending champions of the competition played in 2018, beating Nigeria 4-0 in the finals.

9. Namibia

Namibia qualified as one of the three Southern African Nations

10. Zambia

Zambia’s fast-rising football led to the country’s listing as one of the strongest African leagues.

11. Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe qualified as one of the Southern African representatives.

12. Guinea

Guinea qualified from Western African Zone A slot.

13. Mali

Mali’s highest point in the competition was in 2016 when they lost to DR Congo in the finals. That year, they were regarded as one of the best African nation with the best league in the domestic scene.

14. Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso qualified as one of the representatives of the Western African Zone.

15. Niger

Niger’s highest point in the competition was a quarter-final finish during the 2011 edition in Sudan which was eventually won by Tunisia.

16. Togo

Togo completed the third team from Western African Zone B.


The Detailed overview – the Groups of the 2021 CHAN Tournament


Group A

  1. Cameroon
  2. Mali
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Zimbabwe

Cameroon and Mali remains favourite to qualify for the knockout phase of competition. The Malians lost in 2016 finals against DR Congo.

Group B

  1. Libya
  2. DR Congo
  3. Congo
  4. Niger Republic

Libya and DR Congo are among the favourite to win the competition. Congo is the most successful side in the competition with two titles won during the 2009 and 2016 editions.

Group C

  1. Morocco
  2. Rwanda
  3. Uganda
  4. Togo

Morocco is the defending Champions and as such they are clear favourites in tournament this year. They hammered Nigeria 4-0 in the final in 2018.

Uganda or Togo could claim the remaining qualification spot.

Group D

  1. Zambia
  2. Guinea
  3. Namibia
  4. Tanzania

The group look the easiest in the competition, Guinea and Zambia could be make the headway.



The tournament will be held in three venues including Yaoundé, Limbe and Douala.


See full fixtures list of the CHAN Tournament in Cameroon 2021

More interesting Reads….

How to become a professional soccer player (play in Europe)

How to become a Professional Soccer player in South Africa

Top 12 best Football websites in Nigeria

About Ibiye Ambille 263 Articles
Senior editor, Loves talking football with added analysis.