7.8 C
New York
Saturday, December 2, 2023

Buy now

Canadian Premier League winners, teams & all-time Champions in history

Full list of Canadian Premier League winners

2021 Pacific

2020 Forge FC

2019 Forge FC


Forge FC

Titles: 2

Years Won: 2019, 2020 (a record).

When it comes to the Canadian Premier League, Forge FC is the most successful team in the country with two titles. The club’s first title was in 2019 and successfully defended it the following year which was the second season in 2020.


Forge FC appears to be the strongest soccer team based in the Canadian Premier League and since the purpose of the creation of the league was to improve homegrown players, Forge FC has further increased its level with more players.


Pacific FC

Years won: 2021

Pacific FC won the 2021 Canadian Premier League season following a 1-0 win over Forge FC in the final.


Canadian Premier League is a professional soccer league in Canada contested by 8 teams across the country. The league sits at the top of the Canadian Soccer League system as the country’s primary national Soccer league.

Founded in 2017, the league’s inaugural season was in 2019 after series of dates change as a result of final preparations for the commencement of the new national soccer competition.


Although Canada now has a league, there are other Canadian soccer teams that play in the Major League Soccer including CF Montréal, Toronto FC and Vancouver Whitecaps.


Winners who emerge at the end of the season would qualify for the CONCACAF Champions League or CONCACAF League through the Canadian Premier League international slots.


Seven teams began the inaugural season before another team was added later on, which increased the number of teams to eight. Since its first season in 2019, Forge FC have emerged victorious more times than any other side.

Canadian Soccer League (1987–1992)

1992 Winnipeg Fury

1991 Vancouver 86ers

1990 Vancouver 86ers

1989 Vancouver 86ers

1988 Vancouver 86ers

1987 Calgary Kickers


Canadian Professional Soccer League (1983)

1983 Edmonton Eagles

Canadian Premier League teams

1. Atlético Ottawa

2. Cavalry FC

3. FC Edmonton

4. Forge FC

5. HFX Wanderers FC

6. Pacific FC

7. Valour FC

8. York United FC


Canadian Premier League teams, format since 2019 formation

The league’s inaugural season in 2019, was played similar to the league format in Mexican Liga MX where two short tournaments were used. The winner of each shot tournament qualifies for the Canadian Premier League final or the CPL Final.


From 2020, the addition of Atlético Ottawa saw the league return to the regular season format but still retained the end of season playoffs. Canadian Premier League rules which favour homegrown players


The league operates a strict policy to ensure more young Canadian players have more opportunity to play professionally in the country.

Canadian Premier League Rules

Canadian Premier League rule 1: A minimum of six Canadian players must start in each team in the league.

Rule 2: The highest number of seven foreign nationals are allowed per team.

Rule 3: Players under the age of 21 must be included in the list of six Canadian players in the matchday squad and should be handed about 1,500 minutes the least per season.

Rule 4: Each team in the league are mandated to have a total of 23 players. (Rules a per 2020).


Canadian Premier League broadcast rights – how to watch

Canada (OneSoccer CBC Sports, CHCH).

United States (Fox Sports).

- Advertisement -
Ibiye Ambille
Ibiye Ambillehttps://interestingfootball.com
I'm a sports enthusiast, love writing about football. I have been writing about top teams in Europe, the Premier League and La Liga.

Related Articles

Follow US

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -Discover the best betting sites and bonuses at bookiesbonuses.com
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles