Canadian Championship winners list, Champions awarded Voyageurs Cup in history

Canadian Championship winners list, Champions awarded Voyageurs Cup in history

June 3, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

Canadian Championship Champions list, Voyageurs Cup winners in history.


The Canadian Championship is annual football Competition in Canada and the winner are awarded the Voyageurs Cup trophy.


It is contested by team from the Major League Soccer and the Canadian Premier League, champions of League1 Ontario and the Première Ligue de soccer du Québec.



Cool facts

How many times has TFC won the Canadian championship? Toronto FC from the MLS is the most successful team in Competition with seven titles.


Is there a Canadian Soccer League? The Canadian Premier League is the national soccer league.


The Canadian Championship is organized by the Canadian Soccer Association in charge of soccer activities in the country.


The Voyageurs Cup is awarded to men and women national soccer Cup winners every year.


The winners are awarded a place in the following season’s CONCACAF Champions League.


Differentiating between the Canadian Championship and the Voyageurs Cup


Canadian Championship vs Voyageurs Cup

The Canadian Championship is the domestic cup Competitions while the Voyageurs Cup is awarded to the winners of the Canadian Championship every year.


Voyageurs Cup

Founded in 2002, Initially the Voyageurs Cup was awarded to team annually to the Canadian teams who finishes high in the USL First Division.

  México Liga MX founders: Analyzing every single team


This was judged based on regular season matches against other Canadian teams in the USL First Division.


However, since 2008, it has been presented to the winner of the Canadian Championship.


Canadian Championship

Founded in 2008, teams in Canada are allowed to participate in tournament compared to the US Open Cup played by teams from the United States.


The winners of the Championship are awarded the Voyageurs Cup.


Most successful teams in the Competition


Toronto FC

Toronto FC is a Canadian professional soccer club based in Toronto and competes in the United States Major League Soccer.


Toronto FC is the most successful team in history of the Canadian Championship with 7 titles.


Toronto FC were joined by Montréal Impact who were former members of the USL First Division.


Toronto FC won it’s first Canadian Championship in 2009 and successfully defended it in the following three seasons.


In total, Toronto FC made made it four wins in four straight years.


Starting from 2016, the club almost repeated the same achievement but this time, Toronto could only manage wins in three consecutive seasons between 2016 and 2018.


In the era of USL First Division, Canadian Premier League and MLS teams participation, Toronto FC are the most winners.

  MLS, Liga MX Leagues Cup Trophy winners, 2021 teams, format


Montreal Impact/CF Montréal

CF Montréal is a professional canadian soccer team in Montreal.


The club is the second most successful team in the history of the Canadian Championship and the Voyageurs Cup trophy with 4 titles.


In the Old Voyageurs Cup, the club boost of five titles.


The team singlehandedly won the Canadian Championship when it was known as the Voyageurs Cup meant for USL First Division clubs from 2002 in it’s formation until 2007.


Montreal Impact won the title in five conservative years and the first Voyageurs Cup after the merger with USL First Division, MLS & Canadian Premier League teams.


In the all-time winner’s list, Impact is second with 4 titles.


It won its first title in 2008 five years later in 2013.


This time, the club successfully defended it the following year in 2014.


Impact clinched the 2019 edition.


Vancouver Whitecaps FC

Vancouver Whitecaps is a professional Canadian Soccer team based in Vancouver and competes in Major League Soccer.


Whitecaps have only won the Canadian Championship once and this was achieved in 2015. In the final, the Whitecaps defeated CF Montréal.


Apart from these three professional clubs, no other team in Canada has won the Canadian Championship or Voyageurs Cup in the old format.

  Campeón de Campeones winners list, México Super Cup, Supercopa MX Champions in hist


Canadian Championship winners full list



2019 CF Montréal (MLS)

2018 Toronto FC (MLS)

2017 Toronto FC (MLS)

2016 Toronto FC (MLS)

2015 Vancouver Whitecaps (MLS)

2014 CF Montréal (MLS)

2013 CF Montréal (MLS)

2012 Toronto FC (MLS)

2011 Toronto FC (MLS)

2010 Toronto FC (MLS)

2009 Toronto FC (MLS)

2008 CF Montréal (MLS)


List of teams

CF Montréal, Toronto FC, Vancouver Whitecaps (from MLS).

Atlético Ottawa, Cavalry FC, FC Edmonton, Forge FC, HFX Wanderers, Pacific FC, Valour FC, York United FC. (Canadian Premier League).



The Canadian Championship is the most popular domestic soccer Competitions in Canada aside from the Canadian Premier League.


The biggest teams in Competition all play in the Major League Soccer which is regarded as the top flight Soccer Competitions between the United States and Canada.




Arguably, the Canadian Championship is the most competitive professional men’s soccer tournament in Canada featuring MLS teams, USL teams, Canadian Premier League as well as state league representatives.



This article highlights the Canadians Championship Champions list, winners in history awarded the Voyageurs Cup trophy.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---