Campeones Cup trophy winners, all-time Champions in history

Campeones Cup trophy winners, all-time Champions in history

June 6, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

Campeones Cup trophy winners, all-time Champions in history.


The Campeones Cup is an annual football match played by winners of the United States Major League Soccer (MLS Cup) and the Mexican Liga MX Campeón de Campeones.


Cool facts

Campeones Cup 2021 winners

The 2021 edition is to be played by Columbus Crew and Liga MX team.

Campeones Cup 2020 winners

The edition was scheduled to take place in the summer but was eventually cancelled citing various reasons due to the covid-19 pandemic

Campeones Cup 2019 winners


This was the second edition played Atlanta United and Club América. Atlanta United emerged Champions of the Campeones Cup 2019.

Campeones Cup 2018 winners

This was the first edition of the Campeones Cup played between Tigres UANL and Toronto FC. Tigres UANL emerged Champions.



The match serves as an international Super Cup between Mexico and the United States with Canada including through MLS Cup winners.


It was established in 2018 after an agreement between the two countries Soccer federations.


Campeones Cup Trophy winners, most successful teams in history

Two teams from Mexico and the United States have won the Competition at least once since its inception in 2018.


The 2020 edition which was cancelled would have produced another winner to increase the total list of Champions.

  Turkish Super Lig Champions, list of Turkish league winners history


The two nations had earlier announced the return of the Supermatch in 2021.


Tigres UANL

Country: México

League: Méxican Liga MX

Titles: 1

Years Won: 2018


Tigres UANL was the first team in the history of the Campeones Cup to emerge Champions after beating Toronto FC in the inaugural edition held in 2018.


In the final hosted at the BMO Field in Toronto, Tigres UANL won with a 3-1 scoreline to lift the trophy for the first time and the first team to do so.


Atlanta United

Country: United States

League: Major League Soccer

Titles: 1

Years Won: 2019

Atlanta United became the first team from the MLS to lift the Campeones Cup trophy in the 2019 edition.


The Atlanta based club defeated South American giants Club América in the final match.


Hosted Atlanta United at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in front of over forty thousand spectators, Atlanta won by a 3-2 scoreline to edge the Méxican most successful team in history.


2020 edition cancellation

Due to the effects of the coronavirus pandemic, it was officially postponed and brought forward to May but was eventually cancelled citing various reasons.


However, the two league bodies had announced the return of the tie from 2021.

  List of Canadian Soccer teams (clubs) in MLS - Major League Soccer Canada


Columbus Crew SC will battle winners of the 2021 Méxican Campeón de Campeones final.


All-time winners list of Campeones Cup Trophy

2021?  To be Decided

2020 Not held

2019 – Atlanta United (MLS, United States)

2018 – Tigres UANL (Liga MX Campeón de Campeones, México)


Performance by teams

Atlanta United FC 1

Tigres UANL 1


Performance by nation

Mexico 1

The United States 1


Campeones Cup format

From the previous season, winners of the MLS Cup will square up against winners of the Méxican Campeón de Campeones.


The Campeón de Campeones is the annual football Méxican Super Cup played by winners of Clausura and Apertura.


The winner faces the MLS Cup winners who emerged as a result of winning the MLS Cup playoffs the previous season.


The Competition is usually played in the summer of every year.


The 2020 edition which was scheduled to take place in the summer was cancelled due to the covid-19 pandemic.


Television coverage – how to watch the Campeones Cup around the world


United States

ESPN (English)

Univision (Spanish)



TLN (English)

TSN (English)

TVA Sports (French)



Televisa (Spanish)

TUDN (Spanish


The popularity of Campeones Cup

The Campeones Cup is the most popular inter-nation cup match in North America.

  Serie A winners list, Italian league Champions of all time


The final draw lots of attention with the 2019 final witnessing over forty thousand spectators in attendance.


The Competition serves as the curtain-raiser for the new league season although the Liga MX runs from August to May despite having the separate Clausura and Apertura tournaments.


It is gradually gaining attention throughout the world since the cracker involves two of the biggest soccer leagues in the world.


The Liga MX is the most followed soccer league in the North American continent closely followed by Major League Soccer.


In a bid to further expand the reach of North American soccer to the world, it was created to light up the scene.


Top teams including Club América, Guadalajara, LA Galaxy, etc could feature if they are representatives of their respective nations.



The Campeones Cup is like a match to decide the bragging rights for the season as to who could be called the strongest in the continent between the MLS and the Liga MX.


It one of the most competitive ties in the North American continent.



This article highlights the Campeones Cup Champions and all-time winners in history.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---