CAF Champions League winners list – all-time most successful Champions

CAF Champions League winners list – all-time most successful Champions

March 22, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

The CAF Champions League winners list – all-time most successful Champions



The CAF Champions League has produced several winners in the past with the Egyptian club Al Ahly as the most successful in the history of the competition.



The inaugural season was won by Cameroonian side Oryx Douala in 1964–65 edition by beating Malian club Stade Malien.



The CAF Champions League is well dominated by teams from the Northern part.


Although on some occasions, teams from the Central part most notably TP Mazembe have also won the competition, as they considered the second most successful.



Other top teams include Étoile Sportive du Sahel, Enyimba FC, Wydad Casablanca, Zamalek, etc.



About CAF Champions League


The CAF Champions League is a professional men’s soccer competition organized by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for teams from the 54 registered football associations.


As per CAF’s ranking system, the top twelve countries in the continent are allowed to enter two teams in each continent. The CAF Champions League and the Confederations Cup.



In some seasons, some countries have entered up to three teams in the Champions League.


The winner of the CAF Confederations Cup will automatically qualify for the Champions League the following season.



The CAF Champions League most successful teams


Ahly is currently the most successful on the continent and second behind Real Madrid in the world’s all-time best teams with the most trophies.


Al Ahly

The Egyptian Professional Football club has won over 9 Champions League titles.

  Club América: trophies, achievements, rivalries, records Championship in history


They are one of the strongest teams in Africa and has grown so strongly. The club’s dominance has also gathered supporters within and outside the continent.



The last time they won the competition was in 2020.


Years Won

1982, 1987, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2020


El Zamalek


Zamalek is another top side on the African continent, winning five Champions League titles.

The last triumph in the competition was in 2002 and also came close to winning it in 2020, losing to Al Ahly in the final.


Years Won


1984, 1986, 1993, 1996, 2002


TP Mazembe (Englebert)

TP Mazembe formerly Englebert is a professional soccer club from DR Congo. They are the joint-second most successful club in Africa with El Zamalek, winning five Champions League titles.


The last time Mazembe won the title was in 2015.


They are one of the sides to win the tournament in three consecutive years.


Years Won


1967, 1968, 2009, 2010, 2015


Esperance Tunis

Esperance Tunis is a professional soccer club from Tunisia.


The club has four Champions League titles and has ended up as Runners up on four different occasions.


Esperance Tunis is also a strong club in not just Tunisia, but also Africa.


Years Won


1994, 2011, 2018, 2019




Hafia is the most successful Guinean football club in history, winning three Champions League titles.


Although in recent years, Hafia’s Performance on the continent has been at the highest level.

  Young Africans (Yanga SC) rank in Africa 2021: 74th, arising need for improvements


Then when it comes to pedigree, Hafia is considered one of the best with three titles and were Runners up on two occasions.


Years Won

1972, 1975, 1977


Raja Casablanca

The Moroccan club is another force in African football. They have three titles under their belt.


Years Won


1989, 1997, 1999


Canon Yaoundé

Canon Yaoundé is the top Cameroonian football club and one of the most successful in the country.


They won the competition three times


Years Won

1971, 1978, 1980


Other top winners

1. Asante Kotoko (2), Wydad AC (2), JS Kabylie (2), Enyimba (2), ES Sétif (2).


2. 1964–65 – Oryx Douala Cameroon


3. 1966 – Stade d’Abidjan Ivory Coast


4. 1967 – TP Mazembe (Englebert) DR Congo


5. 1968 – TP Mazembe Englebert DR Congo


6. 1969 – Al-Ismaily Egypt



7.1970 Asante Kotoko Ghana


8. 1981 Canon Yaoundé Cameroon


9. 1972 Hafia Guinea


10. 1973 Vita Club Zaire


11. 1974 CARA Brazzaville Congo


12. 1975 – Hafia Guinea


13. 1976 MC Alger Algeria


14. 1977 Hafia Guinea


15. 1978 Canon Yaoundé Cameroon


16. 1979 Union Douala Cameroon


17. 1980 Canon Yaoundé Cameroon


18. 1981 JE Tizi-Ouzou Algeria


19. 1982 Al Ahly Egypt


20. 1983 Asante Kotoko Ghana


21. 1984 El Zamalek Egypt


22. 1985 FAR Rabat Morocco


23. 1986 El Zamalek Egypt


24. 1987 Al Ahly Egypt

  Tanzania Premier League winners list, Ligi Kuu Bara Champions in history


25. 1988 Entente de Sétif Algeria


26. 1989 Raja Casablanca Morocco


27. 1990 JS Kabylie Algeria


28. 1991 Club Africain Tunisia


29. 1992 Wydad Casablanca Morocco


30. 1993 El Zamalek Egypt



31. 1994 Espérance de Tunis Tunisia


32. 1995 Orlando Pirates South Africa


33. 1996 El Zamalek Egypt


34. 1997 Raja Casablanca Morocco


35. 1998 ASEC Mimosas Ivory Coast


36. 1999 Raja Casablanca Morocco


37. 2000 Hearts of Oak Ghana


38. 2001 Al Ahly Egypt


39. 2002 El Zamalek Egypt


40. 2003 Enyimba FC Nigeria


41. 2004 Enyimba FC Nigeria


42. 2005 Al Ahly Egypt


43. 2006 Al Ahly Egypt


44. 2007 Étoile du Sahel Tunisia


45. 2008 Al Ahly Egypt


46. 2009 TP Mazembe Englebert DR Congo


47. 2010 TP Mazembe Englebert DR Congo


48. 2011 Espérance de Tunis Tunisia


49. 2012 Al Ahly Egypt


50. 2013 Al Ahly Egypt


51. 2014 ES Sétif Algeria


52. 2015 TP Mazembe Englebert DR Congo


53. 2016 Mamelodi Sundowns South Africa


54. 2017 Wydad Casablanca Morocco


55. 2018 Espérance de Tunis Tunisia


56. 2018–19 – Espérance de Tunis


57. 2019–20 Al Ahly Egypt



This article outlines the list of CAF Champions League winners, clubs with most titles since it’s inception.

Al Ahly of Egypt is the most successful Champions of the competition.

Advertisment ---