Brazil league winners list, Campeonato Brasileiro Série A Champions in history

Brazil league winners list, Campeonato Brasileiro Série A Champions in history

June 5, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

Brazil league winners, list of Campeonato Brasileiro Série A Champions in history.


Cool facts

Who has won the most Brazilian league titles? Palmeiras has won the most Brazilian league titles with 10 titles.


Brazil Serie A 2020? Flamengo are the defending Champions of the Brazilian Série A league 2020.



Who is the best team in Brazil? Palmeiras is currently regarded as the best team in Brazil according to performance in recent years.


Who is the most successful football team in Brazil? Palmeiras is the most successful team in Brazil with 10 league crowns, 4 Copa do Brazil, 25 Campeonato Paulista, etc.


The Brazil league is the top tier football league in the country or simply the Brazileiro Série A which has produced notable winners in the past and present.


The league has a short history due to the geography peculiarity of the country.


As a result, State Leagues in the country became the major soccer Competition across the country.


Till today, the State Leagues are still the number one priority played once the Brasileiro Série A is on break or comes to an end after the regular season.


Founded in 1959 as Taça Brasil, the Brazil league is contested by 20 teams and is organized by the Brazilian Foot Confederation (CBF).


Brazil Serie A league is one of the strongest soccer league in the world and one of the most competitive in South America having a team like Flamengo, Gremio, Santos, Fluminense, Palmeiras.


Since its establishment in 1959, the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A has been won by seven different winners across the country.


In the history of the league, Palmeiras are the most successful team with ten titles.


The performance of Brazilian teams in international competitions has made them stand out amongst other leagues in the world.


The first two editions of the FIFA Club World Cup winners were Brazilian teams. The first edition saw an all Brazilian final.

  US Open Cup winners, list of Lamar Hunt US Open Champions in history


Brazil Serie A league winners list, most successful teams



Titles: 10

Years Won: 1960, 1967, 1967, 1969, 1972, 1973, 1993, 1994, 2016, 2018.

Sociedade Esportiva Palmeiras is a brain professional soccer club based in the city of São Paulo and competes in the Série A.


When it comes to the Brazil league, Palmeiras is the most successful team in history with ten league titles.


The club’s first Série A title was the second edition in 1960 after Bahia had won the inaugural edition in 1959.


This success has earned the club the status as one of the most popular clubs in the country with more laurels than other teams in the country.


Palmeiras won the two editions held in 1967, which made it three titles in seven years.


The club made it back to back wins on two different occasions between 1972 to 1973 and 1993 to 1994.


The club’s most recent triumph was in 2018. The titles make it record league titles for Palmeiras in the Brazilian league division.



Titles: 8

Years Won: 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 2002, 2004.


Santos is a professional football club based in Vila Belmiro and competes in Brazilian Série A.


Santos FC is the second most successful team in Brazilian Série A history with 8 titles.


Today, Santos is the only club in the history of the Brazilian league to win five consecutive titles.


Santos won 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, ad 1966 seasons conservatively which remains a natural record until today.


Santos also holds the record as a club with most Brazilian Série A title wins after achieving six titles in the space of eight years.


Despite the early dominance, Santos saw a 34-year wait to lift its seventh title in 2002, followed by another title in 2004.


During these years, Santos FC also lost the league title on eight different occasions as runners up.

  Al Ahly trophies, titles & achievements in history



Titles: 7

Years Won: 1990, 1998, 1999, 2005, 2011, 2015, 2017.

Sport Club Corinthians Paulista is a professional football club based in São Paulo and competes in Série A.


Corinthians is the third most successful Brazilian league team with seven titles.


The club lifted its first title in 1990, years after Palmeiras and Santos began dominating the scene.


After the success in 1990, the club waited for eight years before adding a second in 1998 and successfully defended it the following year in 1999.


Corinthians have also ended up as runners up on three different occasions.



Titles: 7

Years Won: 1980, 1982, 1983, 1992, 2009, 2019, 2020.


Flamengo is the third most successful team in the country with seven titles alongside Corinthians.


Flamengo won its first title in 1980. The second title in 1982 was successfully defended the following year in 1983.


The club made it back to back wins once again in 2019 and 2020.


São Paulo

Titles: 6

Years Won: 1977, 1986, 1991, 2006, 2007, 2008.


São Paulo is the fourth most successful Série A team with six league titles. The club’s first triumph was in 1977.


São Paulo is the second Brazilian club to win the league in more than two seasons after achieving wins between 2006, 2007 and 2008.



Titles: 4

Years Won: 5 1966, 2003, 2013, 2014.

Cruzeiro has won four titles including back to back wins between 2013 and 2014. The club’s first title was in 1966.


CR Vasco da Gama

Titles: 4

Years Won: 1974, 1989, 1997, 2000.

The famous CR Vasco da Gama has won four titles.


The club’s first-ever win was in 1974. Vasco da Gama last touch on the title was in the year 2000.


Titles: 4

Years Won: 1970, 1984, 2010, 2012

Fluminense has won four league titles with a perfect record and has never lost the league as runners up.

  Argentina league winners list, Champions of Primera Division: Copa La Liga professional in history


Other league notable winners



Titles: 3

Years Won: 1975, 1976, 1979.



Titles: 2

Years Won: 1968, 1995.



Titles: 2

Years Won: 1981, 1996.



Titles: 2

Years Won: 1959, 1988.


Atlético Mineiro

Title: 1

Years Won: 1971


Titles: 1

Years Won: 1978.

Atlético Paranaense

Titles: 1

Years Won: 2001.


Titles: 1

Years Won: 1985.


Titles: 1

Years Won: 1987


Brazil league winners full list


2020 Flamengo

2019 Flamengo

2018 Palmeiras

2017 Corinthians

2016 Palmeiras

2015 Corinthians

2014 Cruzeiro

2013 Cruzeiro

2012 Fluminense

2011 Corinthians

2010 Fluminense

2009 Flamengo

2008 São Paulo

2007 São Paulo

2006 São Paulo

2005 Corinthians

2004 Santos

2003 Cruzeiro

2002 Santos

2001 Atlético Paranaense

2000 CR Vasco da Gama

1999 Corinthians

1998 Corinthians

1997 CR Vasco da Gama

1996 Grêmio

1995 Botafogo

1994 Palmeiras

1993 Palmeiras

1992 Flamengo

1991 São Paulo

1990 Corinthians

1989 CR Vasco da Gama

1988 Bahia

1987 Sport

1986 São Paulo

1985 Coritiba

1984 Fluminense

1983 Flamengo

1982 Flamengo

1981 Grêmio

1980 Flamengo

1979 Internacional

1978 Guaraní

1977 São Paulo

1976 Internacional

1975 Internacional

1974 CR Vasco da Gama

1973 Palmeiras

1972 Palmeiras

1971 Atlético Mineiro

1970 Fluminense

1969 Palmeiras

1968 Santos

1967 Palmeiras

1968 Botafogo

1967 Palmeiras

1966 Cruzeiro

1965 Santos

1964 Santos

1963 Santos

1962 Santos

1961 Santos

1960 Palmeiras

1959 Bahia





The Brazilian Série A is one of the most popular leagues in South America and the number one in the country.


The league is also one of the most exposed leagues around the world.



It is one of the strongest leagues in the world. Top teams in the division including Palmeiras, Santos, Fluminense and Flamenco compete for honours.




This article highlights the Brazil league winners list, Champions of the Brazilian Série A.



Advertisment End of Advertisment---