2.3 C
New York
Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Buy now

Australia FFA Cup winners, list of Champions in history

- Advertisement -

The FFA Cup or Football Federation Australia Cup is a men’s professional national knockout Cup Competition that produced several notable winners in the past and present.


YouTube video


Australia FFA Cup winners list


2020 Cancelled

2019 Adelaide United

2018 Adelaide United

2017 Sydney FC

2016 Melbourne City

2015 Melbourne Victory

2014 Adelaide United


The competition is organized by the Football Federation Australia for clubs participating in various Soccer leagues in the country including the Australian A-League, National Premier Leagues, etc. The Competition is played by Australian-based teams with an exception of Wellington Phoenix, a New Zealand franchise competing in the A-League.


For Wellington Phoenix, they are restricted to playing their games in Australian territory be it home or away games. The FFA Cup was founded in 2014 and is currently one of the most contested Soccer Competitions in Australia after the Australian A-League which is the top competing when it comes to soccer in Australia.


The winner of the FFA Cup will represent the country in AFC club Competitions like the AFC Champions League. Australia A-League side Adelaide United are the most successful team in the history of the FFA Cup with three titles.


These achievements include the inaugural edition in 2014 by beating Perth Glory in the final played at the Hindmarsh Stadium.


FFA Cup most successful teams in history


Adelaide United

Titles: 3

Years Won: 2014, 2018, 2019.


When it comes to the FFA Cup winners, Adelaide United is the most successful team in history with three titles. The Adelaide-based club won the inaugural edition in 2014. The club’s second triumph was in 2018 which was successfully defended the following year in 2019.


2014 FFA Cup Final

2014 final was the first-ever edition of the Football Federation Australia Cup played by Adelaide United and Perth Glory. Played in front of the club’s cheering supporters, Adelaide United won the game by a lone goal to emerge as first-ever Champions of the country’s knocked Cup Competition.


2018 FFA Cup Final

2018 final was the fifth edition of the FFA Cup. It was played at the Coopers Stadium in Adelaide between Adelaide United and Sydney FC.


Adelaide emerged Champions of the Competition for the second time with a 2-1 win over Sydney FC who won the 2017 edition at the expense of Adelaide United in the final.


2019 FFA Cup Final 

The 2019 FFA Cup final was the sixth edition of the national knockout cup competition. It was played between Adelaide United and Melbourne City. Adelaide United successfully defended the Competition it won the previous year with a comfortable 4-0 win over Melbourne City.


Sydney FC

Titles: 1

Years Won: 2017.


Sydney FC is the second most successful team in FFA Cup with one title. The club won its first title in 2017, defeating record winners Adelaide United as the game was forced into extra time. Sydney FC became the Champions, thereby claiming its first-ever FFA Cup title with the win.


Melbourne City

Titles: 1

Years Won: 2016.

Melbourne City is the second joint-most successful team in the competition. The club’s first title was in 2016 by beating Sydney FC who further went on to win the title the following year.


Melbourne Victory

Titles: 1

Years Won: 2015.

Melbourne Victory is the third joint-second most successful team in the FFA Cup winners history with a single trophy. The club claimed it’s a title in the 2015 edition.



It is the second most competitive Competition and the number one knockout cup Competition in Australia played by teams in the A-League and other teams in the Australian league system.

Ibiye Ambille
Ibiye Ambillehttps://interestingfootball.com
I'm a sports enthusiast, love writing about football. I have been writing about top teams in Europe, the Premier League and La Liga.

Related Articles

Follow US

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -Discover the best betting sites and bonuses at bookiesbonuses.com
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles