Asian Cup winners list, the AFC Asian Cup Champions in history

The Asian Cup winners list, the AFC Asian Cup Champions in history.


The AFC Asian Cup is men’s national football tournament organized by the Confederation of Asian Football for teams in the Asian continent.


Founded in 1956, the Competition is regarded as the second oldest in the world behind the CONMEBOL Copa América which is still premier’s premier national team tournament.


Unlike the Copa America, the AFC Asian Cup is held after every four years.


The Asian Cup is the most priced national team football Competition in the Asian conhasnt and has produced notable winners including Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Iran, etc.



AFC Cup winners list, most successful teams in history


When it comes to the AFC Cup, Japan is the most nationals nation team with four titles.


Japan’s first title was achieved in 1992, several years after the Competition was established.

  Bundesliga Champions List, German league winners of all time


The far east Asian country also won the title back to back between 2000 and 2004.


The last time Japan won the Asian Cup was in 2011.


Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia is the second most successful team in Asian Cup with three titles. Most of which were achieved in the 90s.


Saudi Arabia’s first title was in 1984 with the second title in 1988. The country’s last title was in 1996.


Iran are joint second-most successful team in the competition with three titles.


Iran’s first title was in 1968. The other two titles were between 1972 and 1976.


South Korea

South Korea is the third most successful team in Asian Cup with two titles.


The Koreans achieved this in 1956 and 1960.


Other notable winners

Israel – 1 Title

Kuwait – 1 Title

Australia – 1 Title

Iraq – 1 Title

Qatar – 1 Title



2019 Qatar

2015 Australia

  How to become a professional footballer, best country to start

2011 Japan

2007 Iraq

2004 Japan

2000 Japan

1996 Saudi Arabia

1992 Japan

1988 Saudi Arabia

1984 Saudi Arabia

1980 Kuwait

1976 Iran

1972 Iran

1968 Iran

1964 Israel

1960 South Korea

1956 South KorAsiansian


Asian Cup format

The AFC Asian Cup is played in two stages:


The Group stages

Starting from the 2019 edition, each team that qualifies for the finals plays three games in a group of four.


The winners and runners-up from each group progress to the knockout stage along with the four best third-placed sides olosersest loosers.


The Knockout Stage

About sixteen teams compete in a single-elimination tournament.


This begins with the round of 16 and ends with the final match and the winners er emerges Champions of the Asian continent.



The Asian Cup is the most popular national team tournament held in Asia which attracts followers among Asians and other parts of the world.

  List of Copa Libertadores all time winners (most successful clubs)


The interest abroad increased when Australia won the 2015 Asian Cup title after swit from the continent of Oceania to become an AFC member nation.


Since Qatar’s triumph in 2019, the following within and outside the continent has continually increased although regular matchday attendance during remain still at a lower level compared to the European Championship.


Status as second oldest

The Asian Cup is the sectionals National team football tournament in the world behind the South American CONMEBOL Copa America which is the oldest in the world.



The Competition in the Asian Cup is fierce even as teams like Saudi Arabia be with Iran, Japan, South Korea, Australia etc.



The audience remadifferent difference compared with the Copa America, AFCON or the European Championship.


The audience is far too low although there has been significant growth over the years.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.