African Cup of Nations (AFCON) winners list, Champions in history

May 19, 2021 0 By Ibiye Ambille

African Cup of Nations (AFCON) winners list, Champions in history.


The Competition is the continental premiere national team showpiece for men’s senior teams across the African continent.


Which African country has won the most Afcon? Egypt has won the most AFCON with seven titles including two back to back wins and three consecutive wins.



How many countries qualify for the Africa Cup of Nation? 24 teams across the continent. Through the qualification series, a total of 24 teams will qualify to play in the final tournament. This also includes the host nation.


How many times has Nigeria won the African Cup of Nations? Nigeria has won the African Cup of Nations three times between 1980, 1994 and 2013.


The AFCON remains the number football Competition in Africa where the winner has crowned Champions of Africa until the next edition is held.


It is organized by the Confederation of African Football headquartered in Cairo Egypt.


The inaugural edition of the tournament was held in 1957 in Sudan and Egypt emerged as the first winners of AFCON.


It was originally held after every two years but was later changed to three years from the 2013 edition onwards.


A total of 24 teams qualifies for the final Competition after passing through the qualification stage known as the AFCON Qualifiers.


Egypt remains the tournament most successful team for a record seven times.


AFCON winners list, the most successful teams in history



When it comes to the AFCON, Egypt is the most successful team in the history of a continental showpiece with seven titles won more than any side that has participated including winning the inaugural edition in Sudan.

  Campeón de Campeones winners list, México Super Cup, Supercopa MX Champions in hist


Egypt enjoyed remarkable success throughout its participation in the Competition.


This success also includes winning the competition in the spaces of three editions between 2006, 2008 and 2010.


2010 also marked the last time Egypt won the continental showpiece. Egypt is currently regarded as the best national team in the history of the African Cup of Nations.


Today Egypt remains the only country in the history of African football to have won and defended the titles three years in a row.



When it comes to the African Cup of Nations, Camera is the second best and most successful national team with five titles slightly two wins behind Egypt.


The Cameroonians won their first AFCON trophy in 1984 hosted by Ivory Coast. This marked the beginning of a new era even as the Cameroonians emerged Champions four years later.


The Central African country also enjoyed back to back wins between 2002 and 2002.


Cameroon also surprised the continental once again by lifting the 2017 edition hosted by Gabon.


This was the tournament where the team fielded the Majority of home-based players play in less known leagues.


Cameroon is another team that dominated Africa after Egypt had enjoyed an early dominance.



Ghana is the third most successful national team when it comes to the African Cup of Nations with four titles won.


The Ghanaian are another side who dominated the tournament in the early years which includes back to back wins between 1963 and 1965.

  MLS, Liga MX Leagues Cup Trophy winners, 2021 teams, format


Although Ghana is yet to taste the AFCON trophy in the modern era of African football. The last time the West Africans lifted the trophy was in 1982.



Another side with success in the continental showpiece is Nigeria. The West African tasted the trophy in 1980 before winning a second trophy in 1994 hosted by Tunisia.


The African giants as they popularly known made it three titles in the 2013 edition hosted by South African and was also the last time the country lifted it.


African Cup of Nations winners list – Full list of Champions


2019 Algeria (2)

2017 Cameroon (5)

2015 Ivory Coast (2)

2013 Nigeria (3)

2012 Zambia (1)

2010 Egypt (7)

2008 Egypt (6)

2006 Egypt (5)

2004 Tunisia (1)

2002 Cameroon (4)

2000 Cameroon (3)

1998 Egypt (4)

1996 South Africa (1)

1994 Nigeria (2)

1992 Ivory Coast (1)

1990 Algeria (1)

1988 Cameroon (2)

1986 Egypt (3)

1984 Cameroon (1)

1982 Ghana (4)

1980 Nigeria (1)

1978 Ghana (3)

1976 Morocco (1)

1974 DR Congo (2)

1972 Congo (1)

1970 Sudan (1)

1968 DR Congo (1)

1965 Ghana (2)

1963 Ghana (1)

1962 Ethiopia (1)

1959 Egypt (2)

1957 Egypt (1)


About the African Cup of Nations

The Africa Cup of Nations of AFCON, officially CAN or Total Africa Cup of Nations as per title sponsors of the tournament is the top international men’s association football competition in Africa.


The Competitions is organized and controlled by the Confederation of African Football and was first held in 1957. Egypt won the first edition and also holds the record as the most successful with seven titles.

  AFC Cup winners list, Champions in history


Popularity of the AFCON


The African Cup of Nations is the number football competition on the African continent and is the most followed. Internationally, the AFCON competes with the AFC Asian Cup as the most popular around the worldwide audience.




It is one of the most competitive national team football tournament in the world having some notable names including Egypt, Nigeria, Algeria, Cameroon, South Africa, Senegal and Ivory Coast.


Egypt is the tournament most successful side haven won upto seven titles since the inception of continental showpiece.


This also includes winning the inaugural edition and defending it the following edition.


Ghana used to be a major force most especially in the late 90s. However, the Ghanaian have not won the continental showpiece since the start of the modern era of African football.


Nigeria is another giant when it comes to the AFCON. Today, the Super Eagles of Nigeria prides as one of tournament favourite in any edition they qualify to play.


South Africa

South Africa is also another giant and have also emerged as a top side at the mundial.


Algeria is the face of modern african football with some of the best legs spread across Europe and other parts of the world.



This article highlights the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) winners list and most Champions in history of the continental showpiece.

Advertisment End of Advertisment---